Welcome to Cancer-Forums.net!   

Advertisments:

Useful Links:

American Cancer Society
National Cancer Institute
Cancer Definition

I don't have an account but Im on here on my sisters because I really need advice, my dad (48) has cancer?

Discuss Colorectal cancers

I don't have an account but Im on here on my sisters because I really need advice, my dad (48) has cancer?

Postby jacky » Mon Feb 02, 1970 10:56 pm

and I am a freshman in college. It is stage 3 colon cancer but they got a lot with surgery and the doctors are optimistic but we are still not sure. I was away when this happened at school and was unable to come home & my dad didn't want me to leave school. I just spent since before christmas at home for break and it was tough to see him bald, weak, and down a lot of weight but it was great to spend time together. My dad is a very strong guy and has been constantly telling my family he doesn't want to be a burden. I tried my best to help him by going with him to chemo, sitting and watching movies together when he was sick, when he was well enough he took me out shopping and to lunches/dinners, and we had some heart to hearts which felt good but scared me at the same time. A while before I had to go back I told him I thought I should transfer and go to school while living at home but he told me "absolutely not. you deserve this college experience and it would kill me to know i took that away from you." So I'm back at college and loving it but I cant help feel guilty . I don't think it will be the last time with my dad but that still always crosses my mind. I feel guilty that my mom and siblings cant escape like I can. Am I wrong to have gone back? What can I do to help my dad even though I'm far away? Im going to try and come home more because its only 4 hours away but its hard to come home. When I do come home what should I do to help him and my family? Thank you for any advice you can give this is a very tough time in my life
jacky