Welcome to Cancer-Forums.net!   

Advertisments:

Useful Links:

American Cancer Society
National Cancer Institute
Cancer Definition

How Do You Politely Suggest Some One Stop Smoking Around Their Dieing Husband?

Pancreatic Cancer Discussions

Postby Caius » Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:34 pm

My mother in-law is an avid smoker. My father in-law has stage 4 pancreatic cancer. We are visiting this weekend and had to take my father in-law to the ER b/c of foot swelling and pain. While my husband and I were following them I noticed my mother in-law smoking in their car with just her drivers window cracked about 4 inches.... I'm not a doctor and have no medical education but I'm gonna make a safe bet and say that is probably not good for my father in-law.

It makes me so angry but I feel like I would be out of line to tell a grown woman how to take care of her husband and how to live her life.

Any suggestions of how to politely say, "knock it off!!" ?
Caius

Postby aquilino65 » Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:36 pm

i am glad i saw this because i know the answer to this, my dear.

your father in law is going to be dead very very soon.
your mother in law copes with stress by smoking.
it will make NO DIFFERENCE to the health of this man to have this woman smoking around him.
it does help her, though.

take all your anger and put it in a box and throw it away.
from this moment on every single minute you are with either of them, make those last moments HAPPY MEMORIES for all of you.
start right this very second, because you dont have much time.

the way you do this is you smile, make calm polite small talk in a low voice,not loud or shrill, you ask them how they are and ANY TIME THEY WANT TO TALK, NO MATTER WHAT IT IS, JUST LISTEN to them because your presence and YOUR PATIENCE with them right now is what is needed.

just be there, be smiling and kind and supportive.
there is no need to judge anything they do.
nothing.